P1030392.JPGRACHEL STANDS PROUD

The long awaited trusses arrived last week and were promptly installed. Each new component of the house raises us higher off the ground and were it not for the Genie boom lift we have rented this week, I would be ready to break down and actually pay somebody to do this high stuff.

Leonard loaned us his climbing harnesses for the roofing. Even so, Rachel and I climbed up on the roof like two mice stepping into a cat-infested gauntlet. I’ve always wondered what good a harness would do in the event of an actual fall. One might not fall all the way to the ground but it can’t be pleasant to be jerked to a halt and left dangling in midair.

I can’t say I ever felt comfortable up there, but by the end of the day I was at least walking upright instead of crawling on all fours (which I did initially.) Truth be told, Rachel seemed to adapt to the height faster than I. We have the lower roof sheeted and hope to do the upper roof tomorrow. I sometimes forget that Rachel has another job – waitressing (and occasionally cooking) at Joe’s Tavern. I don’t know how she does it – working until 3 AM and then getting up at 8 AM.

P1030390.JPGRACHEL THE COOK

