P1030339.JPGLEONARD

Thursday’s visit from the building inspector didn’t go so well. Let’s put it this way, those guys are a lot more generous with Rachel’s money than I am. Specifically rebar. You’d think we were building the Empire State Building to see all the steel they had us put in her basement wall. Nothing personal here. The inspectors we’ve dealt with seem to be nice enough guys and in their defense I should say that they don’t make the rules; they just enforce them, but for the life of me I just cannot figure out why Rachel needs to pay the county $2500 for permission to build her house. Who asked them? $2500 is a lot to pay for what basically amounts to a pain in the ass.

On the bright side, we eventually received the building inspector’s blessing and the footing pour went smoothly. For that we can thank Rachel’s neighbor, Leonard. He’s a carpenter and his experience and help have been invaluable. I’ve never poured a concrete wall before and Leonard knows all the tricks. Just knowing that he’s involved takes a load off my mind. It’s not knowing what you don’t know that makes for a lot of anxiety and there are quite a few things I don’t know about concrete.

P1030336.JPG

With the footing in place, we will tackle the actual basement walls next. Finding the forms was no easy matter. We thought we had some lined up through one of Rachel’s friends but that fell through at the last minute. What I’ve learned over the last week is that very few contractors do their own concrete work. They subcontract it and the concrete subcontractors are the only guys with forms. None of the rental places in Wenatchee rent them. We finally located some in Chelan. Mary and I drove up there today and picked them up. Now I just have to figure out how these things fit together – TGFL!

P1030338.JPGTHE FOOTING HAS BEEN POURED!

