20140201-154729.jpg
THE DAY’S HAUL

Don’t laugh. How much gold have you mined – eh?

They (the yellow specks to the left of the nickel) may be small but they’re the real thing. Yuma Lief and Mojave Mary, notorious claim jumpers that we are, actually earned these gold bits the hard way – we panned them from Jumpin’ Jack Draw west of Quartzsite.

I should have known gold mining is not a matter of filling one’s pockets with nuggets. The gold pan I bought included a magnifying glass and a set of tweezers. Apparently, large nuggets of gold are rare.

I went to a canyon east of here today (Mojave Mary went to a crafts fair) and tried out my new, $469 Gold Buddy dry washer. It worked as advertised but there was no gold to be found in the 3-ft deep test hole I dug. A sheen of dust and an aching back are all I have to show for my labor. An old miner on a 4-wheeler stopped to chat with me as I shoveled sand from my test hole.

“Price of gold is droppin’ ” he said.

“That would only be a problem if I had any gold to sell” I answered.

Back to Jumpin’ Jack tomorrow. ‘Spose we’ll be movin’ on in a day or two.

20140201-160426.jpg

MARY, PEACHY & ED WORKING THE DRY WASHER AT JUMPIN’ JACK

We came to Quartzsite prepared for poor TV reception and we haven’t been disappointed. No problem. We purchased the complete DVD set of the Breaking Bad series before leaving home. We started watching night before last. Wow! I hope all the episodes are as good as the first three. How did we miss that series during the six years it was on AMC? A definite 5 stars.

