20121225-180421.jpg
RACHEL IN 1983

About thirty years ago I had an idea, call it a vision, of a child’s sled that an adult could push around much like a stroller on runners. I wound up making three of them and for a few winters, while our kids were still small enough to fit in one, I would push them around in the snow. But that all ended when Nicholas, our youngest, was about three years old and too big.

For the next 25 years or so the sleds collected dust in our goat barn. Now Rachel has a little boy, Sonny, who’s the right size for the sleds. Rachel and Sonny came up to our house today for Christmas and I dusted off one of the sleds for a little stroll. I still get a big kick out of pushing the little ones around even if they aren’t that excited about it.

NOTICE TO MATTHEW, RACHEL, & NICHOLAS: You are hereby on notice that I’m counting on a fresh supply of grandchildren for the next ten years so that my sleds can realize their potential.

20121225-190201.jpg
RACHEL AND SONNY IN 2012

